Really, that’s it?

Well Christmas is over and I have to say I have come out the other side with an overwhelming feeling of underwhelmed-ness.

I am struggling to find the reason for more consumerism. Honestly. Seeing posts on facebook of the gifts given made me feel ill. Not in a jealous way, in a ‘I feel sorry for you that you feel you have to spend that much money on shit your kids won’t care about in 10 minutes’ kind of way. 

I got no Christmas butterflies, no festive cheer (unless you count eggnog…) Could I be the female version of the grinch?

I am already thinking about what to do differently next Christmas. I don’t think I can bear a repeat of this years hollow feelings.

*Disclaimer: Having family around was fab and Boxing day with my Mums side of the crew was great. I think it is the gifts side that irks me the most. I can’t quite put my finger on it but let me tell you it will be a constant question over the next 12 months. 

Please tell me I am not the only one feeling this way?

In the meantime I am occupying my thoughts with this project…

Image

 

I am hoping that focusing on a slow thing will help clarify my thoughts. Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

