Fillies, finery & feta!

Today I hosted a Melbourne Cup luncheon for the Mums at school-mostly because I didn’t fancy sitting at home to watch it! 9 lovely ladies joined me in the school assembly hall in their finery to watch the race that stops a nation. Seeing as there were only 10 of us I decided to do the cooking myself. This is the menu I came up with….

Canapes

caprese kabobs and cucumber cups

Main

Roast Chicken (Thankyou Woolworths!)

Pear, Walnut & Watercress Salad

Roast Pumpkin & Feta Salad

Dessert

Individual New York Baked Cheesecakes served with strawberry & mint

Refreshments

Iced Tea

I got to school early and set up before heading home to get myself suitably frocked up! We even ran a sweep-thanks Rachel! A big shoutout to my Mum, Mother-in-law and Husband for helping with various parts of the day xo

I am thinking of hosting a Mothers Day lunch next year…what do you think?

Fox hard at work while we set up…

The desserts…

The Setup

(We had to use the assembly hall as the smaller art room was being used-I tried to make it less ugly and more cozy…)

The centrepiece

Shameless selfie!

My lovely date (who slept from 1.30-3….thanks Foxy!)

I hope you had a nice day-even if you didn’t watch the race!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

